• Categories

  • The Golden Rule

    “That which is hateful to you do not do to another ... the rest (of the Torah) is all commentary, now go study.”

    - Rabbi Hillel
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Remember to click "manage" to set your preferences, such as daily or immediate and the time of delivery.

  • Subscribe Via Email

  • Lists of posts and videos

    Dandelion Salad Videos

    Dandelion Salad Posts

    Don’t Enlist, But Don’t Just Take My Word For It by Lo
    Please pass this on to anyone you know who may be considering enlisting as a soldier (mercenary).

  • Amendment I

    Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.
  • Disclaimer:

    The views and/or opinions posted on all the blog posts and in the comment sections are of their respective authors, not necessarily those of Dandelion Salad.

    All content has been used with permission from the copyright owners, who reserve all rights, and that for uses outside of fair use (an excerpt), permission must be obtained from the respective copyright owner.

  • The Internet is Under Attack

  • US Deaths in Afghanistan: Obama vs Bush. Click here to learn more.

Name 10 things that you are grateful for this Thanksgiving by Rocket Kirchner

Beautiful Fall Day 2013

Image by Dandelion Salad via Flickr

by Rocket Kirchner
Featured Writer
Dandelion Salad
Rocket Kirchner (blog)
Rocket Kirchner (youtube channel)
November 19, 2012

Sometimes we human beings just have to sit down now and then and take stock. Gratefulness is not only good for reflection, but it is also very healthy for the soul. There is a lot to complain about in this world of pain and fire and steel. A lot. But let us just for a moment seek to invert complaint if only for a few minutes, and list the top 10 things that we are grateful for this year. Here are mine. I would like to hear yours.

1. This years musical accomplishments.

2. Many a bright afternoon sky.

3. Food.

4. Brisk weather after that hot summer drought.

5. God’s undying love for me.

6. Real friends with great face to face conversation.

7. Specific books I bought this year.

8. The ability to be kind to others.

9. Those who are tolerant of my mistakes.

10. Seeing my cousins again after all these years and reconnecting with my brother Steve.

see

Exclusive: Activists Who Can’t Love by Rocket Kirchner

Rocket Kirchner: Hiding in America (Live)

Rocket Kirchner: SlingShot Survival (songs from his latest CD)

Rocket Kirchner: Soups Up (songs from his latest CD)

Exclusive: Blessed are the destitute, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven by Rocket Kirchner

9 Responses

  1. […] Name 10 things that you are grateful for this Thanksgiving by Rocket Kirchner […]

  2. Living an attitude of gratitude is a great way to make a shift in our outlook. I’m not saying that I do it all the time, but I’m grateful that I know that I can do this when I get out of sorts and grouchy and feeling mean (that was a little joke).

    Today the taxi driver took me for a ride, literally, in the opposite direction of where I was going and got us stuck in downtown traffic (I live on the south side of town, so there was no need whatsoever to go into the central part of the city). I was stewing and fretting and ranting at him, so much that he turned off the meter, and said he wasn’t charging me. But I’d waited too long because I didn’t want to use the rest room at the shopping center, and hadn’t planned on an hour-long taxi trip home when it only takes 10 minutes — if the taxi driver isn’t trying to rook me. So I had to go, I really did. It was miserable and I started to get a pain in my leg, and it made me surly. We were both in a sorry state, that taxi driver and I.

    So I challenged myself to shift out of my perceptions of this situation, and basically I did it by starting to identify with the taxi driver, and feeling grateful that I’ve never felt pushed to these kind of strategies to make a living. When he finally got me home and saw how much pain I was in, as I got out of the taxi with great difficulty, he became very humble and apologized sincerely, and insisted on helping me with my bags.

    I asked him how much the fare was, and he said, “You decide.” I gave him what I usually pay the taxi driver for this trip. And I told him, “I forgive you for the pain and distress you caused me.” It was a minor kind of shift, but in a sense it was a victory, because I really did forgive him.

  3. [...] Name 10 things that you are grateful for this Thanksgiving by Rocket Kirchner [...]

  4. There is alot to be thankful for in life even in the most horrible situations . Buddha calls this ”the practice of mindfulness”, one of the 8 fold path . it seems that real friends will be high on a lot of peoples lists.

  5. Deepavali is the Hindu festival of the lights celebrated in India and other countries where Hindus live, such as Malaysia, where I am presently residing. Deepavali is kind of like Christmas, people gather, gifts are exchanged, special meals eaten. It is also like Thanksgiving in the aspect that people also give thanks for all that they are grateful for. So in the spirit of Deepavali and Thanksgiving, I add my thanks. I am deeply grateful for:
    1. Dandelion Salad for the sharing and information that goes on here… and to Lo for making it happen.
    2. My English teaching position and the opportunity to interact with students from many countries.
    3. My good health and the swimming pool at my university where I can swim every day all year long.
    4. For my family and friends who helped me this past year during a long period of unemployment.
    5. For the pleasure I get from writing.
    6. For the Internet and the ability to do research, follow stories, and interact with people that it gives me.
    7. For the planet that supports us and makes possible our lives.
    8. For the cats in my neighborhood who make my walks so interesting.
    9. For the long legacy of people writing books to share their wisdom, and to inform, entertain and beguile us. For the pleasure I get from reading.
    10. For the trees that are the source and sustenance of my belief in all that is good and sacred.

    Thank you, Mr. Kirchner, for your post. May you enjoy a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family. And Happy Thanksgiving to all of the Americans who read this.

    • Thank you so much, Ariel. Happy Thanksgiving and Deepavali to you, too.

      What a lovely list. I knew you would comment on this post!

      PS: I had to delete the other blog post published last night as there was confusion on who wrote it (I thought the person sending it to me wrote it; turned out she didn’t.)

  6. Like this one. I’ve been talking in my own head all day! About what I am thankful for. If I do it everyday maybe I’ll stay calmer!

Please add to the conversation.

