All I Want For New Years Is My Rights Back By Ward Reilly

Dandelion Salad

By Ward Reilly
After Downing Street
Mon, 2007-12-31 00:42

All I want for New Years 2008 is the Bill Of Rights. Okay, okay…the actual Constitution document sits safely in a vault somewhere in Washington D.C. (not being used). So let me change my wish.

All I want for New Years is to have my Rights back. Constitutionally speaking.

I know that’s a LOT to hope and dream for. You’re probably thinking, “GET REAL, Ward”. I understand.

Considering that they have been gone for so long, and that they are now scattered and hidden in some dark basement under the White House, how can I seriously hope to get them back?

We’ll get to that in just a moment.

You see, the Right I actually decided to go searching for on this particular day at the (very) White House, was my Right to perform a “citizens arrest”, because I knew of several Constitutional crimes being committed at that particular location. So a citizens arrest seemed like the “right” thing to do, to help me along the road to finding the rest of my Rights.

So, on November on 7th, 2006 (election day), myself, and a few friends,(mom-Cindy, x-Cia-Ray, x-Col-Ann, x-Grunt Bp, DU-Dennis, vets Mike & Bruce, and a few others) met at the Capitol to hang around, to sit-in for two days, raise some hell, and to search for my Rights.

On the 8th, right after we all heard that Rumsfeld resigned, I knocked on the gate in front of George’s White House, to get the attention of the agent there, and the Secret Service man asked me “what I wanted?” I told the agent; “I want to make a ‘citizens arrest’ of President George Bush, and Vice President Dick Cheney”.

I was serious. Seriously. He looked at me like I am crazy, which I probably am.

The story doesn’t end there, of course.

So anyway… the Secret Service guy actually goes and gets his supervisor. And Mr. Superior Secret Service man comes back with the first agent, and asks me the same question, plus he asks me “who I am”. So I told him. This time both of them went to the little booth and huddled for a few minutes…and then they came back and told me this; “Mr. Reilly, the reason they call it a ‘citizens arrest’ is that you have to do it by yourself, without the help of “authorities”.

Hmmm…I already knew that. So I told them both that “I already knew that, but that I needed them to open the gate, so that I could come in and do it, because otherwise I would have to jump over the fence”(which would be a felony-crime, in itself). Plus I’m kind-of old to be jumping over 6-foot fences unless I really have to. So I repeated to them for the third time that I needed them to open the gate.

They said “No, Mr Reilly, we aren’t going to open the gate”. I told them that I didn’t think that they would, and I told them that they were stopping me from exercising my Rights, which made them complicit in the crimes being committed inside the White House. I also told one of them that he worked for me. And he said that he didn’t…I disagreed strongly with that, in that his paycheck comes from tax dollars, but that was a different matter. I wanted to arrest Bush and Cheney.

THAT Is the end of the story, but that’s not what I want to talk about. I want to talk about somebody in Congress making a “citizens arrest” of Bush and Cheney, since the Secret Service won’t let me do it.

In April, Congressman Dennis Kucinich introduced an 11-page resolution to impeach Mr. Cheney. Essentially telling our nation that he KNOWS that Cheney has broken the law. Then he went on “The Colbert Report” to laugh it up. HaHa.

Mike Capuano (D-Mass) directly acknowledged the administration’s “continual disregard for the rule of law, separation of powers, and binding nature of laws and treaties of the United States”, but he still refuses support for impeachment. Then Capuano actually said “we should not deny the President the rights that I believe his administration has denied to others.” Then he went fishing or something like that, knowing that the White House was denying our Rights to us all. Ho Hum.

Harry Reid, the Democratic leader in the Senate, described Mr. Bush’s action in commuting the sentence of Lewis Libby as “disgraceful”. Then he went home for supper. What’s a little “disgrace” amongst politicians, anyway?

Charles Schumer, a Democratic senator, said of the Libby crimes; “As independence day nears, we’re reminded that one of the principles our forefathers fought for was equal justice under the law. This commutation completely tramples on that principle”. Then he went shopping at the mall. After all, it’s just common citizens being “trampled”.

So Reid, Kucinich and Schumer(and many other congresspeople) tell us that Bush and Cheney trample the Constitution. Yet they do nothing, in real terms, to stop them.

So my question to ANY and EVERY member of Congress is this; Why don’t some of you get together one day, and MARCH YOUR ASSES over to the White House and perform a citizens arrest? What are you waiting for? “We The People” are being trampled and betrayed out here….and much, much worse things are happening in our names.

How many people have to be killed, tortured, raped, kidnapped, spied upon, and violated, before ANY of you politicians gather up the courage to go and ARREST those two criminals? How can you go home each night, KNOWING that you can stop them today, using YOUR Bill of Rights to do it, by arresting them?

Happy New Year, you say?

None of you would have to jump the fence at the White House, like I would have to, to get to them inside. Each and every one of you has a free pass to Bush and Cheney’s offices, unlike me, or my veteran buddies.

continued…

FAIR USE NOTICE: This blog may contain copyrighted material. Such material is made available for educational purposes, to advance understanding of human rights, democracy, scientific, moral, ethical, and social justice issues, etc. This constitutes a ‘fair use’ of any such copyrighted material as provided for in Title 17 U.S.C. section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond ‘fair use’, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.

see

Kucinich-Dennis

Impeach

2 thoughts on “All I Want For New Years Is My Rights Back By Ward Reilly

  1. Pingback: John Nichols For Kucinich 2008 Part 2 (video) « Dandelion Salad

  2. Pingback: John Nichols For Kucinich 2008 (video) « Dandelion Salad

Comments are closed.