Robert Lang: Idea + square = origami

Dandelion Salad

I better not watch this twice or I’ll be writing that Origami book I always wanted to write (and not posting the news).  I used to teach Origami and have read well over 35 books on it including ones by Robert Lang.  Fascinating video here, hope you enjoy as much as I did.  ~ Lo


July 31, 2008 Robert Lang is a pioneer of the newest kind of origami — using math and engineering principles to fold mind-blowingly intricate designs that are beautiful and, sometimes, very useful.

2 thoughts on “Robert Lang: Idea + square = origami

  1. So glad you enjoyed it, too, U ? Authority. Origami was my passion for a number of years. It kept me sane when I was a stay-at-home mom, I used to joke. But seriously, it did keep my brain active.

    The most complicated Origami models I’ve made were a fully masted ship using both sides of the paper so it was two colored and a jack-in-the-box, also two colored. Both took about 2 hours just to fold.

    I’ve always admired Robert Lang and his amazing work, especially making insects.

  2. T.Y.,
    18mins. of relief…., there is still so much more to be learned about life, and how to benefit “other’s[unknown beings]” threw simple yet complex models.
    Hopefully the models will be for advancement of w/mankind, and not for evil intentions, to subjugate w/mankind.

Please add to the conversation.

