Sharon Astyk’s Predictions For 2009

Dandelion Salad

by Sharon Astyk
Speaking Truth to Power
Monday, 15 December 2008
ORIGINAL BLOGPOST

I’m writing this a little early this year – Independence Days is due in a couple of weeks, and I anticipate a great deal of distraction as the end-of-the-year predictions really start pouring out, so I thought I’d jump the gun and make mine now.

But first, how did I do last year? (And note, just ’cause I got some right last year doesn’t mean that you should take my word as gospel – I don’t think that everything that comes out of my ass is the high truth, and neither should you ;-))

[…]

What do I mean by collapse?  We throw that word around, but it is easy to misunderstand.  I mean that the US is likely to undergo a financial collapse a la the Great Depression – widespread unemployment, lots of people facing hunger, cold and the inability to get health care, a disruption of what we tend to assume are birthright services, and a sense that the system doesn’t work anymore.  I don’t claim that we are headed by Thursday to cannibalism, however – what I think will be true is that we will often do surprisingly well in the state of collapse, as hard as it is.

In previous years, I was fairly lighthearted about my predictions – this year, I don’t find it possible to be.  I really hope I’m wrong about this.  And I  hope you will make decisions based on your own judgement, not mine.  These are predictions, the results of my analysis and my intuitions, and sometimes I’m good at that.  But I do not claim that every word that comes out of my mouth or off my keyboard is the truth, and you should not take it as such.  You are getting this free on the internet – consider what you paid for it, and value it accordingly.

[…]

via Carolyn Baker – SHARON ASTYK’S PREDICTIONS FOR 2009.

see

Bailout for the People: “The Cook Plan” by Richard C. Cook

What is to be Done? By Michael Hudson and Jeffrey Sommers

The Economy Sucks and or Collapse 2

Global Warming

