With God On Our Side: George W. Bush and the Rise of the Religious Right in America (2004)

Dandelion Salad

Replaced video Jan. 9, 2013

Christians cannot love their enemies and kill ...

Image by Dandelion Salad via Flickr

Deftly maintaining an evenhanded tone in tackling a sensitive topic, this two-part documentary first traces the roots, rise and rocky history of the conservative evangelical movement in America. The film then goes on to explore how President George W. Bush’s religious beliefs inform his decisions as the country’s commander in chief. Included are rare archival clips, interviews with leading evangelists and comments from key players in Washington.

[…]

via Rotten Tomatoes

***

BrutusCass·Aug 20, 2008

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

from the archives:

Michael Parenti: Deep Ideology: How Reactionary Agendas Shape Political Awareness (must-see)

The Rightward Imperative of the GOP by Steven Jonas, MD, MPH

American Crusaders: The rise of Christian nationalism in Post-9/11 America (2008)

The American Taliban by Bruce Gagnon (Jesus Camp – 2006)

The Christian Fascists Are Growing Stronger by Chris Hedges

Jesus was a Communist by Darren Pedigo

9 thoughts on “With God On Our Side: George W. Bush and the Rise of the Religious Right in America (2004)

  1. Pingback: Tony Blair, George W. Bush and David Cameron: Hijacking God? | Dandelion Salad

  2. Pingback: To Be a Disciple of Jesus « Dandelion Salad

  3. Pingback: Exclusive: Blowback and the Religious Right by Shawn S. Grandstaff « Dandelion Salad

  4. Pingback: Fundamentalism Kills by Chris Hedges « Dandelion Salad

  5. Pingback: Trouble by Mark A. Goldman « Dandelion Salad

  6. Pingback: What Is Sadr’s Game on Future U.S. Troop Presence? by Gareth Porter « Dandelion Salad

  7. From facebook thread with Lo-D…

    This is an amazing documentary! It’s so unfortunate, this politicization of faith. I felt it growing up in South Alabama in the 70’s, for a long time I thought it was just maturity, but then I realized that what I had seen happening was a f…aith in personal redemption turned outward and used as a bludgeon against different political viewpoints. It killed my faith and for that I will be forever angered at this horrible co-opting of religion in the US.

    … Oh I believe in social justice, and I appreciate those willing to be both vocal in politics as well as faith, especially those who “practice” faith, but there’s nothing that can change the damage that was done to me. The Religious Right has… fully co-opted Christianity, and they happened to do so at a time when my brain/faith/soul were fundamentally open and ready to receive divine inspiration, but I was forced to seek that inspiration elsewhere after only hearing hate rolling off the tongues of Jesus’ witnesses. I like you Lo and I applaud the work you do, but I’m resigned to disbelief in a cruel and angry god because that’s what I was taught. It’s taken years of struggle to accept the fact that I was no longer a Christian and to get over the psychological torment when faced with the idea of hell. But, I did get over it. Love you Lo! Keep up your commendable work!

Comments are closed.