Dumbed Down, Fleeced, Controlled…. And Proud of It! by Philip A. Farruggio

by Philip A. Farruggio
Featured Writer
Dandelion Salad
March 20, 2012

I did some channel surfing one night, since the college hoops game was a blowout. I checked out MSNBC and heard the word Republican mentioned 100 times. I went to Fox News on cable and heard the word Democrat mentioned 100 times. Of course, along with all this Republican vs. Democrat crap thrown at me, they concentrated on the newest horserace garbage… as if it really matters, right? Or, are you one of those who think it does matter? Well then, read on….

I gave up watching the government’s business on the three C-Span channels… all the hearings and other hogwash that the Congress and the White House conducts. Add to that all those think tanks and foundations that get free air time to push the agenda of this very slick and controlling empire. Case in point: Syria, the newest of the Hitler like regimes that we need to eliminate to … save the world for democracy etc. Now, don’t get me wrong. I have absolutely no love for Assad and his government or most of the regimes throughout the Middle east… including Israel. Those countries are controlled by a few very very rich FAT CATS and their minions, reflecting what has been our modus operandi since we became a republic over 200 years ago. Did you catch Leon Panetta, our newest Sec. of War… sorry , I meant Defense Secretary (oxymoron if there ever was one) when he reported to Congress recently? Boy, this was right out of Orwell’s 1984, parroting what the propaganda did regarding Noriega in Panama, Milosevic in Serbia, Gaddafi in Libya, and of course Saddam Hussein in Iraq. One wonders if we Americans can be so dumb as to not see the pattern here. Perhaps PT Barnum was correct: “A sucker is born every minute!”

I finally, after 30 years, went back to doing standup comedy recently. They had this amateur contest at a club in St. Augustine a few weeks ago. All the contestants were allotted 8 minutes of shtick. I spent a great deal of preparation time in writing my bit, which of course was political humor. If you read my work on Dandelion Salad and other fine sites, you know where I stand as to this American military empire and the 2 Party con job etc. Well, that was quite an awakening for me at that comedy club. The owner was a nice and sweet lady, as was the 28 year old MC for the event. He had been doing stand up for five years and knew the whole local central Florida comedy scene. The four contestants drew lots and I got to go on first (not the best way to re-enter the stand up scene). The audience numbered about 35 people. They ranged in age from the mid 20s to late 60s. The MC did his opening act, which actually lasted 20 minutes, consisting of real low brow bathroom or barroom humor. You know penis and tit jokes, fat jokes (he was quite heavy) and things of that sort. Well, they loved it! I sat there, awaiting my turn, like a French nobleman ready for the guillotine. The minute I arrived on stage and began my political bit, I could just feel the apathy of this audience. My opening routine about the mega millionaires and how they control politics went over like some lead balloon. One 60 something lady to my left (no pun intended) laughed at everything I said… the other 34 people… SILENCE! I mean total silence. My jokes about the state of our health and dental care in America (“In the future, when we go to the dentist, it’ll go like this: He’ll be looking in your mouth as the nurse stands nearby taking notes. He’ll shout out to her, “#21, $950 dollars… #17, $250 dollars… #14, $2500 dollars for a root canal and crown. Oh, you don’t have ANY insurance? Ok, we can do it for cash or credit card at $2100, OR I can take it out for $225 bucks.”) SILENCE, with the exception of my one fan out there. By the end of my 8 minutes I could not even speak; my mouth was so dry from anxiety. I bombed… or perhaps WE, the audience of low brow humor seekers, too dumbed down to see the humor in TRUTH, and myself, not polished enough to get it over correctly.

You don’t need me to tell you, the few of you out there who see the light as to this empire and our political system. Sadly, the overwhelming majority still think that the most important act we each can do to offer change is by voting. Need I say more? To know truth nowadays is to walk alone amidst the crowds of lemmings rushing to the “cliffs of reason”.


Philip A. Farruggio is son and grandson of Brooklyn, NYC longshoremen. He is a free lance columnist (usually found on the fine Dandelion Salad site), an environmental products sales rep and an activist. Since 2010, Philip is a spokesperson for the 25% Solution Movement to Save Our Cities by cutting military spending 25%. Philip can be reached at paf1222@bellsouth.net.

3 responses to “Dumbed Down, Fleeced, Controlled…. And Proud of It! by Philip A. Farruggio

  1. philip a farruggio

    thanks phil restino. appreciated. as you and i both know ‘ We cannot escape truth…. or our Selves! ‘

  2. “Let it not be said that we knew but still did nothing” – Dr. Ron Paul

    Dear Phil,

    You continue to be an incredible example to me of participatory citizenship. I’m proud of you for going up on stage cold without any of your own friends in the audience and doing your political humor and be willing to take the bomb. You’re about doing what’s right, Phil, and speaking up when we should be speaking up.

    I’ll never forget driving by you guys on the corner in Port Orange 7 or 8 years ago and seeing you standing there with the sign that changed everything for me … “We Need You. Park and Join Us.” Seeing you guys out there every week was one thing, but it was that day with that sign that finally got me. You got me and a few others out on the corners speaking up … and because of you, we were able to get even more out there using your same message “We Need You. Park and Join Us.”

    You’re a good man, Phil. They will not be able to say that you “knew but still did nothing”. I’m proud of you, buddy.

    Your friend,

    Phil Restino
    (aka Junior)

  3. Nice try anyway, but reality is what they try to escape.

Please add to the conversation.

