A Corporate Whore of Congress by Ed Ciaccio

by Ed Ciaccio
Writer, Dandelion Salad
March 10, 2015

(to the tune of “The Yellow Rose of Texas”)

I’m a corporate whore of Congress,
One of many Wall Street bought.
From voting for their greedy laws
I’m richer than I thought!
My colleagues here in Congress
Can’t help but all agree,
That a corporate whore of Congress
Is the only way to be!

Chorus (sung by a chorus of dancing Congress members):
We’re the corporate whores of Congress,
We do just what we’re told.
We make exciting speeches,
And try to sound so bold,
But when it comes to making laws
To serve the Common Good,
We Wall Street Congress lackeys do
What corporate whores all should.

I spend less than half a year
In Washington, D.C.,
But jet to foreign resorts
And luxury spots for free.
My corporate donors know that
These junkets pay them back
When I vote for bills and subsidies
That keep them in the black.

Chorus

Constituents can visit me,
My door’s open to all,
I listen quite politely,
Then when they’re down the hall,
I quickly shred the notes I took
And get back on the phone
To corporate donors I reward
With favorable business loans.

Chorus

This corporate Congress racket
Is one that can’t be beat.
As long as I deliver,
I’ll never lose my seat.
And if my poor constituents ever
Wonder why I whore,
I’ll tell them they elected me,
That’s what politics is for.

Chorus


Ed Ciaccio’s first book, Heartlines: Selected Personal Works 1966-2011, is now available at http://www.createspace.com/3722975 or www.amazon.com.

from the archives:

Big Fish, Little Fish by Michael Hudson

Ralph Nader: The Budget Is A Collective Display of Twisted Priorities and Insane Declarations By Congress

Corporate Destruction of Free Markets Rules Us by Ralph Nader

Chris Hedges: The State of Corporate Dominance in the World

Supreme Court Abolishes Campaign Contribution Limits

4 thoughts on “A Corporate Whore of Congress by Ed Ciaccio

  1. Excellent Frank, I so agree ~ what a terrific song! It’s crying out for a stellar performance to send it viral on the ‘net…satire is so powerful, even better than incarceration; after all, why should we add insult to injury and expect tax payers to foot the accommodation bill of corrupt members of congress (& judiciary, to boot!!)

    I’d just strip them of their ill-gotten assets and send ’em all packing, off to the unemployment office, to stand in line with everyone else expected to survive on a sickening diet of Roundup-ready corn…

    • Right on, David! You said it well.

      I called my “progressive” Congressman’s office on Monday inquiring about his stand on the TPP and Fast Track legislation, which, as you know, the Liar-In-Chief in the White House has been trying to pass for the past several years, and the office assistant said he was still “undecided” as he is looking into the details of it.

      When I mentioned the fact that it is literally off limits for politicians to read, she didn’t have an answer. So much for our “fabled” democratic process in Pax Americana.

      Yes – “let them eat corn” (Round-up Ready kernels, that is), for letting Monsanto and the other crop-destroying Frankenfood terrorist companies do their best in destroying Mother Nature’s unpolluted bounty of food on Planet Earth.

  2. Dear Ed, First of all, I enjoyed your “Heartlines” book very much and hope others purchase it for their reading enjoyment and inspirational messages.

    And even though I can’t “carry a tune” I’m gonna practice singing the above song and keep a printout of it to serenade people with the CCC message above.

    Thanks again!

    • Hi Frank,

      I’m glad you enjoyed my parody and I encourage you to share it widely! Thank you for buying a copy of my first book. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m currently finishing a second book, a political one, containing many song parodies as well as poems and essays. I’ll let Lo know when it’s published and available.

Comments are closed.