Thoughts on the “Freedom Convoy” in Ottawa, by Kenn Orphan

Graffiti on the wall with the message "Fight Fascism"

Image by Ivan Radic via Flickr

by Kenn Orphan
Writer, Dandelion Salad
Halifax, Nova Scotia
February 2, 2022

To begin, I understand the frustration many people are feeling around the world after 2+ years of a global pandemic. It’s justified. I get the anger and fear for livelihoods many have. I get the concern for government mandates and many of Trudeau’s policies. But I decided to listen to several of the speakers at this so-called “Freedom Convoy” in Ottawa and I found that there is an undeniable slant toward far-right, xenophobic and anti-science conspiracy theories. There also appears to be a strain of white nationalism present among a large swath of the protesters. No matter how they spin this, it isn’t just a “few bad apples.” Fascist elements loom large in this group.

Continue reading