Dandelions and Civilization

Dandelion and Violets

Image by Dandelion Salad via Flickr

Sent to Dandelion Salad by a friend; thanks, Jay!

The History Guy: History Deserves to Be Remembered on Jun 3, 2019

Dandelions are among the most populous and widespread plants on earth. The secret to their success has to do both with their unique characteristics, and their inextricable connection to humans. The history of humans and dandelions is forever linked in ways that may surprise you.

This is original content based on research by The History Guy. Images in the Public Domain are carefully selected and provide illustration. As images of actual events are sometimes not available, images of similar objects and events are used for illustration. […]

From the archives:

Chris Hedges: Food Companies Distort the Science and Research Into What We Eat

Remembrance Day: Why I’ll Wear a Dandelion Instead of a Red Poppy + A New Armistice Day by David Swanson

A Modern Example of National Madness by Henry Pelifian

Collard Greens, So Good For You

Have You Had Your Dandelions Today?

Why you should eat dandelions and a recipe

2 thoughts on “Dandelions and Civilization

  1. Growing up I never understood why people called dandelions weeds. I saw them as flowers. I’ve had arguments with a few people over the years over wanting dandelions while they wanted to spread poison to kill them. And that was before learning they were food.

    I also think that manicured lawns of grass are ugly. They remind me of conformity in two ways – the look and the behavior of fitting in, wanting to look like everyone else. I used to call manicured lawns without trees and bushes crew cuts. 😎 I’ve seen people cut down pretty purple flowers that were growing on a grass lawn. The last time I saw that I told the guy he was mentally ill and devoid of an appreciation of nature.

    Thanks for the video.

Comments are closed.