A Smeller for the Empire: Gimbling in the Wabe By Gary Corseri

A Border Collie resting during a game of fetch.

Image via Wikipedia

By Gary Corseri
Featured Writer
Dandelion Salad
– August 27, 2010
September 4, 2010

“’Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe….”
–Lewis Carroll

“Enough for everyone; too much for none.”
–Woof

Riff One

My house is foreclosed on, my job is outsourced, and my wife runs away with a banker.  So…,I figure there’s nothing left to do but pack up the old mini-van, head on down to New Orleans and start a new life as a singer of blues.  My border collie, Woof, rides shotgun, his handsome muzzle sticking part way out the window.

Continue reading

John F. Kennedy just won’t die By Roland Michel Tremblay

By Roland Michel Tremblay
Featured Writer
Dandelion Salad
The Marginal
4 September, 2010

Mugshot taken of Lee Harvey Oswald, taken foll...

Mugshot taken of Lee Harvey Oswald, taken following his arrest. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I couldn’t care less for JFK, apart from the fact that he is now but an international airport. I only care to see how many died talking about his death, over 40 now at the last count, and I wonder, deep down, if I will be shot for writing this article. The powers that be certainly do not kid around when it comes to JFK, they kill you outright even today. Let’s test it then, I don’t care dying an accidental death.

It so happens, and I cannot describe this as anything else but a coincidence, or destiny, I don’t know, my best friend was the lover of Lee Harvey Oswald, the so-called killer of JFK. It didn’t matter to me, I didn’t know, what did that have to do with JFK? The man died way before I was even born, nearly 50 years ago, and this is all American stuff, I’m not American, I’m Canadian. Let the Americans sort themselves out, I thought. Not so easy when your best friend was right in the middle of it, and is about to publish the greatest bestseller ever on JFK’s death. Dear me, I thought, I will have to read the book and write an article about it. After all, this kind of journalism is rare these days when freedom of speech is all but nonexistent.

Continue reading

When Will We Finally Get It? by Jason Marks

by Jason Marks
Guest Writer
Dandelion Salad
The Revolution is Coming Aug. 26, 2010
Sept. 4, 2010

Dear Friends,

I don’t know about you, but I can’t but help in feeling hopeless with all that’s going on in the world. After reading two very important books by author and activist, John Perkins (Confessions of an Economic Hit Man and The Secret History of the American Empire), the realization that the same terrible actions by the “corporatocracy” continue unabated. This link between these huge criminal corporations and government are at the core of most of the ills of the world. Perkins remains hopeful because of organizations that are focused on change. He feels we still have a chance, but writes that unless all the children of the world have the same opportunities, change will not occur. Continue reading

Slavoj Zizek: Capitalism: First as Tragedy, Then as Farce

https://dandelionsalad.wordpress.com/

Slovenian philosopher Slavoj Zizek in Liverpool.

Slovenian philosopher Slavoj Zizek in Liverpool. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

theRSAorg | July 28, 2010

In this short RSA Animate, renowned philosopher Slavoj Zizek investigates the surprising ethical implications of charitable giving.

Continue reading

Bailing out the Fraudsters instead of Saving America’s Economic Base by Prof. Michael Hudson

https://dandelionsalad.wordpress.com/

by Prof. Michael Hudson
Global Research, September 3, 2010

Is the Economy as Broke as Lehman Was? The Angelides Committee Sidesteps the Mortgage Fraud Issue

What is the difference between today’s economy and Lehman Brothers just before it collapsed in September 2008? Should Lehman, the economy, Wall Street – or none of the above – be bailed out of bad mortgage debt? How did the Fed and Treasury decide which Wall Street firms to save – and how do they decide whether or not to save U.S. companies, personal mortgage debtors, states and cities from bankruptcy and insolvency today? Why did it start by saving the richest financial institutions, leaving the “real” economy locked in debt deflation?

Continue reading

Chris Hedges: Moral Courage + NH Peace Action’s Will Hopkins Responds to Chris Hedges

with Chris Hedges
Featured Writer
Dandelion Salad
Truthdig Sep 1, 2010
Sept. 4, 2010

Chris Hedges

Image by Dandelion Salad via Flickr

The Truthdig columnist begins this speech to the Veterans for Peace convention by saying, “Physical courage is something you see on a battlefield. Moral courage you almost never see.”

Continue reading